Ones to Watch 2021

1st May - 6th June 2021

About ones to watch

Ones to Watch returns to the Gallery for 2021, showcasing some of the most exciting, emerging talent Yorkshire has to offer. The exhibition brings together work by artists from across disciplines, from painting to sculpture, film, photography, ceramics, design and more. Strong themes have emerged from the selection this year; with artists exploring ideas around identity, portraiture, lockdown, time, locality, craft and technology. Ones to Watch provides a unique platform to discover and experience the work of Yorkshire’s graduate artists during the coronavirus pandemic, when many degree shows may not be accessible.

Opening times: Tuesday-Saturday 10-4, Sunday 12-4. Closed on Mondays. Please wear a mask, scan NHS Track and Trace, and use hand gel. We will monitor numbers on the door for social distancing.

The artists

Amy Guo, Aniela Preston, Cameron Lings, Emerson Pullman, Glen Ogden, Grace Murphy, Hang Zhang, Hugh Roberts, Jay Villacci, Jenny Brown, Jioni Warner, Katherine James, Katie Dickinson, Lewis Andrews, Lynne Barker, Maria Sappho, Megan Dalton, Megan Milner, Meri Croft, Mia Symonds, Milly Parker, Ruby Plank, Sally Barton, Sam Mitchell, Samuel Price, Sarah Cawthray, Sasha Napoli, Teddy De Souza, Sonia Moran, Steven Wood, Will Hudson, Yasmin Lari.

selectors and prizes

This year’s exhibition was selected by Jane Bhoyroo (Yorkshire Sculpture International), Hannah Obee (Harewood House) and Catriona McAra (Curator at Leeds Arts University) along with the Sunny Bank Mills team.

Prizes this year will include: Ones to Watch Judges Prize (Money and Residency), Ones to Watch People’s Choice (voted for by Gallery visitors), and additional Ones to Watch Studio Residencies providing free studio space and access to facilities for a month. Selected prizewinners will also get a years membership to Curatorspace.


All of the artists are 2020 graduates or current students, living in Yorkshire or studying here. Schools include; The University of Leeds, Leeds Arts University, Leeds Beckett University, Sheffield Hallam University, The University of Huddersfield, York St John University, MIMA School of Art and Design (Teesside University), York College, Staffordshire University,Goldsmiths University, Nottingham Trent University, and Chelsea College of Arts (UAL).

The Artists